“Justsary”

When kids ten years younger than you are getting in a relationship, should you be alarmed? There was a sickening trend, just a few months ago, of kids publicly proposing to their so-called “forever” and posting about the weeksary, hoursary, and even the very absurd justsary. I was just sitting on one corner then, contemplating if I should be mad, concerned or jealous.

Where do these kids get the courage to do it, to put their hearts out there? How do they know that it’s love already? And why are they in a hurry to get into a relationship?

As someone who has never been in a relationship before, I honestly wouldn’t know what to do if I’d be presented with an opportunity to be in one. See, I don’t even take care of myself. I don’t want to be responsible for anyone else. How can a guy expect me to give him time and effort and affection (cue cringe here) when I’m not used to doing that?

A friend of mine told me that being in a relationship is a lot like having work, only it’s not limited to eight hours a day. Just thinking about it makes me tired.

Also, am I the only one who’s not excited about getting married or having kids? Whenever I see a batch mate or a friend getting engaged, my initial reaction is always this: “Why are they engaged already? They’re too young!”

Yep. Too young. Most of them are older than me and I still think that they’re too young for marriage.

Younger people might ask me, “Don’t you feel old? You’re already twenty-five!” and my answer would be, “No. I don’t.”

When I was a teenager, I imagined getting married at 26 (because it’s my favorite number LOL). I imagined a lot of things, none of which was even remotely close to my reality now.

Maybe it has something to do with my being a late-bloomer. If I have experienced things that a normal person should experience at a certain age, I would probably be satisfied by now and will settle down the first chance I got. But the thing is, I don’t want to settle down just yet. I still have so many things to do. I seriously can’t imagine having kids of my own. The mere thought of it scares me.

But nowadays, falling in love is a race. I’m not sure why everyone’s in a hurry.

And what’s up with the cheesy confessions and proposals? They’re honestly so cringe-worthy! Well, what can you expect from kids? When they grow up, they’ll know better. At least some of them have the guts to do it, and they put a lot of effort into these confessions. I just hope that they learn to refrain themselves from broadcasting everything on social media. If they put themselves out there and they went viral, adults, who frown upon this kind of behavior, will tear them apart like a pack of hungry wolves, especially if they make typographical and grammatical mistakes.

And I hope that they don’t forget about everything else. It’s easy to think that love can make everything better. It can’t. Everything needs hard work and they need to juggle their love lives with the other aspects of their lives.

They fall in love at such a young age. I hope they don’t get too scarred too soon.

Published by kwentonijhingness

Writer by heart.

2 thoughts on ““Justsary”

  1. Napapa-cringe ako kapag naaalala kong nag-boyfriend ako nung fifteen palang ako. Hahaha and after three years feeling ko nagmature na ako kasi sa opinion ko, masyado pang maaga kung magkakajowa o mag settele down na at age 25 😂✌

    Like

  2. Nagkaroon ako ng boyfriend ‘nung 15 pa lang ako, at nakakasisi. First boyfriend ko ‘yun, 1 month lang kami since things didn’t go the way I expected. Hindi na ko nagka-boyfriend after ‘nun kasi alam kong mahirap pumasok sa isang relasyon. Hindi rin ‘yun ganun kaseryoso. Now that I’m older, I don’t want to settle down. Nakakatakot. At sobrang daming tao ang nagtaas ng kilay ‘nung sinabi kong ayokong mag-asawa kasi nakakatakot, bukod don hindi ko rin nakikita ‘yung sarili kong merong sariling pamilya.

    Like

Leave a comment

Aly Almario

Storyteller. Bibliophile. Traveler. Food Enthusiast. Photography Addict.

Nerdy Talks

Reading is bliss.

emotionspassion.com

Emotional musings

Gen: A Girl who loves to wander..

Kaladkarin. Wanderer. Backpacker. Mountaineer. One of the Boys. Photographer. Mean and Moody. Let's wander and get lost. Welcome to my blog!

Quiet Poetic

Figuring out life, one blog post at a time.

just bite the apple.

poetry . reviews . anything worth writing

unbolt me

the literary asylum

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

Lady énigmatique

Going through her closets, turning skeletons into art.

BOOKBED

A Filipino book community

taking a break

what helps you take a break from life?

Raven the Wanderess

What's the why to your what?

Speaking of Savory...

Life re:Framed through the eyes of high school foodies

Her Scattered Thoughts & Reveries

My blog. My opinion. Naah..you can share whatcha think.

fashionandstylerioter.wordpress.com/

Breaking the fashion boundaries

rachellebelaro

thegirlbehindthestories

Writer and Illustrator

i write my thoughts, and about life; i illustrate dreams and things under the moonlight